Exeter is four years, 30 songs and a hundred shows into its mission of leaving Earth without ever leaving the ground. A space rock/indie 4-peice from Austin, TX, delivering power and ambient texture, Exeter creates at times, a wall of sound, and at others, blissful soundscapes. By blending these elements, Exeter achieves a unique, yet vaguely familiar aural experience.

Mike Parker (vox/guitar) and Cameron Creamer (guitar) met in 2002, but it took a few years before they began exploring a more dissonant but melodic sound that would come characterize the band. Two songs, Houdini and Ether, came out of their first sessions, which were good samples of the musical terrain they hoped to cover with other likeminded musicians.

In search of the remaining pieces of the group, Ky Williams (drums) began playing regularly with the group, meeting Mike and Cameron at Austins Million Dollar Sound studio to begin writing songs. Rocky Reyna (bass) became the final piece of the puzzle, completing the unique sound with both melody and rhythm.

The four-piece hibernated in a small practice space for several months, effortlessly creating songs, and played its first show at a house party in August of 2005. A warm reception followed with steady gigs in Austin and the surrounding area, with nearly every gig picked up from word of mouth.

The band teamed up with local producer and engineer Kevin Butler at his Test Tube Audio, to record the Intra Venus EP. At first created as a tool to book more gigs, the production and strength of the six-song album led the band to opt for a full release. Ky, also an accomplished graphic designer, created the albums packaging.

Recorded in less than a month, Intra Venus was Exeters first foray into a new sound which paid homage to several genres of music, most notably space rock and shoegaze.

For the next few years, Exeter focused on playing live shows and beginning to build a regional fan base. During this time, the band was asked by South Florida indie label, PopUp Records, to contribute a track for their upcoming tribute compilation to 90’s space rock pioneers, Failure. The band returned to Test Tube Audio, producing a cover of “Smoking Umbrellas” for The Nurse Who Loved Me, released in November of 2008. Later that year, the band contributed a track to 2009’s Exploding In Sound compilation, by Dan Goldin.

The band revisited familiar ground but found new territory when they returned to Test Tube Audio to begin working with Butler on Grey Noise, White Lies, the bands first full-length release on Pop Up / Engineer Records. The album, a meditation on love, violence and everything in between, will be released August 25, 2009.

Exeter is expanding its gigging schedule, with plans for regular shows in Austin and road shows throughout the Southwest. As always, the guys are exploring a new sound and on a constant journey to find their muse.

Band Members
Rocky – Bass
Ky – Drums and Samples
Mike – Guitar and Lead Vox
Cam – Guitar and Backing Vox